ing postal arrangements with the United States were allowed to remain undisturbed, being of a more liberal and advantageous character than the ordinary regulations of the treaty. At this meeting the regulations of the Treaty of 1874 were revised and embodied in a convention which came into force on 1st April, 1879.

1125. The third conference was held at Lisbon, in February, 1885, and Canada was represented by the delegates of the British post office. No material change was made in the convention of 1879.

1126. The fourth conference was held at Vienna, in May, 1891, and Canada was represented by the High Commissioner at London, Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, Bart., G.C.M.G. At this meeting the admission of the Australasian colonies was agreed upon, and those countries joined the union on 1st October, 1891. A number of measures, all tending towards facilitating the transmission of correspondence, were agreed upon. The next meeting will be held at Washington, D.C., United States.

in the world, being composed of the following:—The whole of Europe; the whole of America: in Asia—Russia in Asia, Turkey in Asia, Persia, British India (Hindustan), Burmah and the postal establishments at Aden, Mascat and Guadur) Japan, Siam, the British, French, Dutch, Spanish and Portuguese colonies and the British, French, German and Japanese postal establishments in China and Corea. In Africa—Egypt, Algeria, Tripoli, Tunis, Liberia, Congo Free State, the Azores, Madeira, the postal establishments of India and France at Zanzibar, the French, Italian, Portugese and Spanish colonies, some of the British colonies. the Orange Free State, all the territories under the protectorate of Germany, and the French postal establishment at Tamatave (Madagascar). In Australasia and Oceanica—the British colonies on the continent, Tasmania, New Zealand, Fiji, British and German New Guinea, Hawaii, the Marshall Islands and the French, Dutch and Spanish colonies.

1128. A central office, under the name of the "Bureau International de l'Union Postale," has been established at Berne, at the cost of the various countries composing the Union. At the time that the Treaty of Berne came into force, 1st July, 1875, the jurisdiction of the Union extended over an area of about 14.293,750 square miles, with upwards of 350 millions of inhabitants, whereas it now extends over an area of 37,087,500 square miles and 975 millions of inhabitants.